New Year’s: Looking back

1. what did you do in 2012 that you’d never done before?

Got married! I’m super glad I did and I feel even better about our relationship than I did before, which I wasn’t expecting (I wasn’t expecting any change).  I called my mother-in-law “Mom” for the first time, and that feels good. I also got pregnant, twice, which to my knowledge, I’d never done before, and miscarried twice. That part I could have done without. Oh, and I joined La Banda Rossa, a 107+ year old Italian-American Marching & Concert Band, and I marched with my flute for the first time. And I played piccolo for the first time!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
2. did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

Almost. My resolutions were to get married (check), join La Banda Rossa (check) and read the Bible all the way through, according to this “chronological” reading plan I found. David wanted to join along on the New Testament, and we’re a couple weeks behind, but should be able to finish in the next few days. I thought it’d be nice to finally know what the big fuss is about, but after reading it nearly cover to cover, I still don’t. It’s mostly pretty bad writing. I’d give it 1 star on Goodreads.
3. did anyone close to you give birth?

Some of my old school friends had babies, and they’re adorable.

4. did anyone close to you die?

Thankfully, I don’t think so.  I went to my great Uncle Rocky’s funeral, but I wouldn’t consider him close family. I’m so, so grateful my grandparents are here for another New Year’s. I’m not sure if an embryo failing to develop is dying, but with regards to our planned pregnancies, it sure feels that way.

5. what countries did you visit?

Downstate. Ha ha. We barely left the state, but went ust over the NY state border, into the Berkshire/Tacoma Mountains in Massachusetts.
6. what would you like to have in 2013 that you lacked in 2012?

A baby, or one successfully baking.
7. what dates from 2012 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

April 28 is our wedding anniversary. August 14 is the day I started bleeding with baby #1. December 11 is the day we got the bad news ultrasound for baby #2. December 23 was the ten year anniversary of my mother’s death, and David took amazing care of me, and I took amazing care of myself. He made me pancakes for breakfast, and we went for a snow hike in the woods, and then we visited the cats at Springfarm, and took a candlelit bath together at night after a nice dinner. Completely the opposite of ten years ago, and I feel almost like the date itself has been redeemed.

8. what was your biggest achievement of the year?

Getting married, and joining La Banda Rossa. I played in about 18 gigs.
9. what was your biggest failure?

Well, I know it’s not my fault or anything, but failing to carry a baby to term was a pretty big failure to process.

10. did you suffer illness or injury?

See above. I think otherwise, except for a few colds and the usual allergies, it was a pretty healthy year. I even did physical therapy to work on my posture.

11. what was the best thing you bought?

Hmm…nothing comes to mind right away. Strange. I’m glad I invested in a flute repair and marching lyre.  The tickets to and hotel in Oregon were definitely worth it.  Had to buy a “new” (to us) car. Really digging that ice cream maker right about now.

12. whose behavior merited celebration?

David. Absolutely.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

13. whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

A former friend whom I no longer talk to.  Nana pissed me off a couple times, but it made me more depressed than appalled.

14. where did most of your money go?

Lot rent & groceries. Either that, or health expenditures. I got a $2000 root canal/crown this year.
15. what did you get really, really, really excited about?

Being pregnant. My first La Banda Rossa gig(s) on Memorial Day. I was so excited in this video (which I cannot figure out how to embed), I just couldn’t stop marching, even when we weren’t moving….
16. what song will always remind you of 2012?

Marcia Reale
17. compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder?
Sadder, probably, but just comparing this particular time this year to last. Generally I just get happier with my life and more comfortable in my skin.
b) thinner or fatter? I gained about 10 pounds being pregnant and depressed on and off since July/August.
c) richer or poorer? Oh, way richer. I just got an $8/month cost of living raise, bitches!

18. what do you wish you’d done more of?

Write back to penpals in a more timely manner

19. what do you wish you’d done less of?
A little less time on the internet, but I do spend most of my time looking stuff up and reading about topics that spark my curiosity (which is, at different times, just about anything).

20. how did you spend xmas?

We went to Nana & Papa’s for the Feast of the Seven Fishes on Christmas Eve. We gave them a board game based on a game show they used to like watching, and then Nana & David & I played while Papa snoozed. When we got home, we used the traditional Italian spell I looked up online (which you can only learn on Christmas Eve) to cure the Evil Eye, or malocchio. Then on Christmas Day David & I went for a walk in the snowy woods, and we released the material contents of the spell into the creek. After noon we went back to Nana & Papa’s and had eggplant and baked ziti and cookies and hung out, and it was lovely. When we got back home I had a nice glass of rum and soda and fell asleep about 8:30.  Very nice.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

David got me “poop coffee”, coffee that was passed through the digestive system of a civet cat. This is my reaction to that. Usually I am more gracious about gifts.

21. did you fall in love in 2012?

Over & over again, even harder.

22. how many one-night stands?

Haha. Old married people like me don’t do that.

23. what was your favorite TV program?

Community and Parks & Rec were the only ones I can think of that I watched on Netflix DVDs. Don’t usually do much TV, except for local news. We just started on Modern Family.

24. do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

I try not to hate, so no.

25. what was the best book you read?

I read 112 books this year, according to my Goodreads! That’s a lot to choose from, so I have a few: When God Talks Back: Understanding the American Evangelical Relationship with God was fascinating, not because of the Evangelical angle (although that was surprising interesting, too), but particularly if you’re into the inner workings of spirituality and prayer; Amen, Amen, Amen: memoir of a girl who couldn’t stop praying (among other things) and Poser: my life in twenty-three yoga poses were the most captivating memoirs I read, although The Bill From My Father was a close runner-up; Nation of Rebels: Why Counterculture Became Consumer Culture was extremely validating after a messy breakup with a self-righteous “rebel” friend; and Charley Harper: An Illustrated Life was the most gorgeous eye candy book I read that I’d love to have on my coffee table.

26. what was your greatest musical discovery?

I don’t really discover music anymore. I just listen to the radio and get lamer and more into pop music. I danced and sang along to Selena Gomez’ “Love You Like a Love Song” a near-embarrassing amount of times, if I got embarrassed about that sort of thing, which I don’t. I just love you like a love song, baby, and I keep hittin’ repeat-peat-peat-peat-peat.

27. what did you want and get?

A husband, an awesome first season with La Banda Rossa, and another year with my grandparents and cats.

28. what did you want and not get?

A baby/successful pregnancy. I’d either be 27 weeks or 11 weeks right now, so I wouldn’t have had a baby, but still. Fresh start, twenty-thirteen.

29. what was your favorite film of this year?

I don’t really watch movies that much. I can’t really remember.

30. what did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I turned thirty! We got married five days before my birthday, so the day itself was pretty low-key.  I’m sure we visited Nana & Papa, and our friends Julie and Morgan brought me strawberry shortcake, which is now tradition. Other than that, I can’t even remember!

31. what one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Well…probably not losing two pregnancies. I also wish that Papa hadn’t struggled so much with his health, and was still able to work in the garden and drive and get around like usual. That’s been hard on all of us.

32. how would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2012?

David says I look like a hobo all winter. I’m not sure if I have a “personal fashion concept”… I usually prefer things that make me look/feel fairly androgynous–jeans, t-shirts, cardigans.

33. what kept you sane?

Friends, David, cats (ours and at Springfarm), and getting out into nature. Also, journalling and praying and making pysanky when I was sad this summer. Being in therapy for this  last half of my life has also helped me develop and enact some decent coping skills. LOL.

34. which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Oneida County Executive Anthony Picente, whom I met at a La Banda Rossa gig. I was in full uniform, and he shook my hand, and I told him I admired his negotiation skills, and he told me something back, which I can’t remember because he’s so sexy I nearly passed out. Lord help me.
35. what political issue stirred you the most?

Anthony Picente. LOL. Um…
36. who did you miss?

My mother. My father, even. My guinea pigs Bobo and Sammy Bobo. The great-grandparents I’d never met, and the great-aunts I have.
37. who was the best new person you met?

I’m happy to have gotten closer to a lot of my band friends.
38. tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2012:

That shit is cray.  No, really, I can’t think of one.  Keep on truckin’?
39. what did you devote most of your energy to?

I’m not sure about most of my energy, but a lot of it went into worrying about Nana and Papa.
40. quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

“When sober girls around me they be actin’ like they drunk”. And that’s not just for 2012. That’s my whole life.

Happy New Year!

Peace, Love, and Irreverence,

Ami

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Year’s: Looking back

  1. Gina says:

    Poop coffee??!?!?!? So jealous!

  2. Tasha says:

    Poop coffee. I bet Mike would have immediately brewed it. Yuck.

    So glad that you have David and your grandparents in your life. 🙂 Oh, and that awesome band picture.

    • I told him I was going to need him to either brew it in a coffeepot separate from any we currently own, or devise a very, very thorough cleaning method. We’re still working out the details.

Leave a Reply

