Week 2

Had a decent Week 2 of the new year. I think Monday was an errand day, but I can’t quite remember. All I remember is that I got everything on my to-do list done, and that felt good. Oh, I remember now–the repairman came over and fixed the hot water heater. Nice.

Tuesday we had a little afternoon date to the town of Sherrill. Sherrill is a little town between Utica and Syracuse, and home to the Oneida Limited clearance outlet, which was our reason for visiting. We needed some kitchen utensils, and I am done with plastic crap that I have to buy again in a couple years. Oneida Limited comes with a lifetime warranty, which is very attractive compared to a year-old vegetable peeler that comes apart when you use it, part of which broke on—literally–day one. First, though, we had a typical upstate New York/Rust Belt adventure, wherein we went to the place the factor used to be (you know, before everything closed). There were signs everywhere pointing to the Oneida Limited store, and so we went into the side door of an old warehouse building, but inside the door to the store was locked. The closed sign on the window was in front of the sign that listed the hours, indicating that regardless of the other sign that said they’d be opening at 9 o’clock, the year of reopening was indefinite. We walked around a little, looking for another human maybe, but it was absolutely deserted. Old office furniture sitting in the hallway, heat was off. We walked up a beautiful old staircase, another typical Rust Belt thing—the architecture of our cities was made for many thousands more people, people with jobs and money, and so now that we’re inhabited by the folks Left Behind, it’s sort of a crumbling Steampunk dystopia. At the top of the stairs was “Madame Victoria’s theater company” or something, but that pink door was also locked and looked long-vacant, so we got in the car and drove away. As we got back onto the main road, David noticed a GIANT BILLBOARD (haha, but I had missed it) that pointed us to the new location of the store. Anyhow, we eventually got there and bought our lifetime warrantied utensils.

There was also a little cafe in town that serves afternoon tea, “UK style” (David said not really, and he lived in London for a year), with scones and cream tea. So we stopped there and had cream tea and it felt like a real, live, married-people date. Lovely.

We were also going to go to the library, which we were very excited about, because it’s the home of the much-beloved Visual Geography Series books we’ve been reading our way through for several years now. (Nerd love!) Sadly, they were closed for the day due to a broken boiler. We do so love exploring new libraries. After Sherrill we went for a shorter visit to Springfarm.

Wednesday was another to-do list sort of day. We finished up our holiday thank you cards. This year was a real team effort: I came up with the pun and made the stamps, and David helped with the design of the grapes (which I had structured more like berries in our prototype) and did the lettering and ruling, since I cannot make straight lines of even thicknesses to save my life.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Actually, in this batch I did the lettering and ruling on all but the upper left one, which is why they are so much messier.

Thursday we visited Nana and Papa during the day. Our new plant, a “ponytail” palm, was also delivered. It is sort of a memorial to our last lost baby. We’re currently trying to figure out how to keep it away from the cats. I’m thinking about using a handmade basket lined with landscaping fabric for its planter, and I’ve been meaning to try making one out of the red osier dogwood that grows at the end of Nana & Papa’s street, so we collected some of that. Basket is in progress; it’s sort of difficult to work with. But I already have a grapevine basket I wove on the banks of the Oriskany Creek out by the Meetinghouse while we were recovering from the first miscarriage, so I’m thinking I’ll use that one instead, at least for now.  Later that night our friends Julie, Jim & M came over for dinner and we played a fun new board game that we got M for Christmas.

And Friday was also “back to normal”, with me dropping Nana off at the grocery store in the morning while I went to get my allergy shot, and Friday night fish fry at Nana and Papa’s for dinner. In the afternoon, David went to a movie, and I did my first solo volunteering at Springfarm, which I’ll be doing on my own during the week when the semester starts up again at MVCC.

On Tuesday at Springfarm, we learned that Patches, one of the cats from Room 2, has cancer and won’t be with us much longer. Since then, I’ve noticed many of her cat friends sitting near her, doing what I believe to be offering comfort. When I went yesterday, Corky and Dusty were both sitting next to Patches, and they each had their paws extended so the three of them were touching.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

L-R: Corky (laying down), Dusty, Patches

There’s also a new cat there, Chase, a shorthaired orange tiger who might need to have his tail amputated from an injury. He’s very friendly to humans, but is currently in a pen by himself, until he gets better acclimated to Springfarm, and also until he heals from his surgery, so I don’t know how he gets along with other cats. I met him on his first day there, and left as night fell, and we had a quiet talk about how nice Springfarm is, and how he would be safe there.

So now we’re onto a typical Saturday, wherein I wake up extremely late and stay on the internet in my pajamas until 11 o’clock. Happy weekend, all.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Week 2

  1. David Corleto-Bales says:

    It’s such a beautiful picture of Corky and Dusty sitting with Patches. ^.^

  2. Lex says:

    a) Your description “We walked up a beautiful old staircase, another typical Rust Belt thing—the architecture of our cities was made for many thousands more people, people with jobs and money, and so now that we’re inhabited by the folks Left Behind, it’s sort of a crumbling Steampunk dystopia” made me LOL and when I shared it with him, Ben LOL’ed too. It’s the sort of humor best suited for other Rust Belt-ers (that is a new word, I have decided).

    b) The picture of the kitties together is too, too sweet.

    c) I love the cards! Plus, I think the asymmetry works well with them!

    d) You have been at least 10x more productive than I have since the New Year changed. I have mainly been laid up with migraines. I have gone to appointments and I finally submitted the paperwork to legally change my last name (only close to two years after we signed the paperwork to get married), but that is just about it. Jealous!

    • Thank you on all. Doesn’t so much of the Rust Belt remind you of Steampunk stuff? Or maybe the other way ’round….

      I’m sorry you haven’t been feeling well. If I lived closer, I would totally help you with the other paperwork & stuff we’d been talking about. I had no idea you hadn’t legally changed your name, though! You didn’t do the thing on the back of the marriage license?

  3. Lex says:

    I did, but that doesn’t change it on the social security card. According to Uncle Sam, I was still my maiden name.

    And yes, I can TOTALLY see the Steampunk connection lol. Or maybe something like Tim Burton’s Gotham.

    • Debby says:

      I’ve been married for 28 years. Sometime around 9/11, the government decided I wasn’t really who I thought I was and they insist on using my maiden name on all correspondence (read: tax returns). At some point, I’ll have to go the distance and get them to see it from the perspective of the passport office; according to them, I’m who I think I am.
      And Ami, do let’s get some stitchery done sometime in the month of January!

      • Oh, geez. I blame the Patriot Act.
        Yes, email me times & days that are good for you. Usually my weekday plans are free a couple weeks ahead of time, except Fridays. I would be especially happy to get together sometime in the week of Jan 21st, since the 22nd is when David has to go back to work in the PM 😦

Leave a Reply

