The “Howdy, Doug” Series

David has two brothers, Doug and Steve, both of whom we mostly hear from at holidays. This is unfortunate, because they’re both nice people who I would like to know better, them being my brothers-in-law and the uncles of our future children and all. I have too few family members as it is, and so I thought it would be fun to keep in touch the rest of the year via the low-commitment means of postcards.

Now, Doug and Steve are both busy, middle-aged men with full-time jobs, or as the rest of the world calls them, “grown-ups”.  Of the two, Doug is the more serious, and I find it a little harder and more intimidating to connect with him. He is 54. He is an account executive at General Electric. He mostly enjoys talking about and watching sports, which I know nothing about.

But most people like whimsy, right? Even serious people who try their best not to laugh at my jokes. My sense of humor was forged and honed on the course grit of my mother’s and grandfather’s cranky refusal to crack a grin. And when they did it was magic. I am hoping that happens with my “Howdy, Doug” series.  He’ll be getting these in the mail, once a month or so, throughout the year. I’m eager to see how it progresses. The first one might make him smile. The second one might be a fluke. When will he discern it is a series? When will he start looking forward to them? When might he send one of his own?

And here they are:

The one that started it all. David's mom had sent us about eight 2013 calendars, and I had to do something with the pretty pictures. This is the funniest thing I could think of.

The one that started it all. David’s mom had sent us about eight 2013 calendars, and I had to do something with the pretty pictures. This is the funniest thing I could think of.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the one that really cracks me up.

This is the one that really cracks me up.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The “Howdy, Doug” Series

  1. Lex says:

    The penguins are the one that made me crack up the most, too.

  2. Debby says:

    I think you meant “coarse,” of course!! (Sorry, it’s just my inner editor expressing itself!)
    I, too, love the penguin postcard. You and David are so creative!

  3. Tasha says:

    I love, love this idea. The penguins are amazing. Please keep us posted on Doug’s reaction.

Leave a Reply

