Snowgoose Studio

Well, you can see I haven’t been updating very much.  I’m trying to accept that I struggle with consistency, that I go through phases, that I’m up & down, run hot & cold, that I’ve been diagnosed as bipolar for years now and shouldn’t I be used to it by now? So I’m trying something new, which is a theme these days too. I’m going to try my best to “go with it”–to do a lot when I’m feeling good, to write a mess of blog posts, and save them to post  when I’m not feeling particularly inspired. That might mean that some stuff is pretty old, and I’ll try to let you know when I was working on it. Let’s see how this goes.

So what *did* I do over the past…two months, I guess? Oh, geez. Well, the biggest & best has probably been the creation of Snowgoose Studio.  For now, in “public”, it’s a Facebook page where I list my psyanky for sale in photo albums with prices in the description. I accept Paypal or you can contact me directly (coldinaugust@gmail.com) to work out payment options. Still time for Ostara/Easter shipping!

But really, Snowgoose Studio is something bigger than that. On Imbolc weekend (February 3rd, I think), David helped me set up a corner of the spare room for my very own “art studio”.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Near a window for good light. Man, I need good light.

Never gonna not be a mess.

Never gonna not be a mess.

Now, maybe I’m just taking myself too seriously, not calling it a craft room or whatever. But I like the sound of “art studio”. Really, I like the sound of “art school”. I’ve been wanting to go to art school for while now, but I don’t really want to do it the traditional way, with figuring out how to pay for it, the whole structure of school (classes at certain times, assignments, etc.), the length of time it would take to get a degree, and the sort of…pointlessness of getting one, because I don’t intend to look for a job with it. I just want to learn more about art. So I’m sending myself to “art homeschool”. God knows I spend enough time learning about stuff online and reading stuff and looking at stuff but much less time actually *making* stuff. Not anymore.

I’ve been working on a lot of things, which I’m excited to show you.  Next time: some of the not-for-sale pysanky I’ve made this season!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snowgoose Studio

  1. Debby says:

    Amy, your art studio looks so inviting! I hope you’re spending lots of time in there….cogitating, creating and Making.

Leave a Reply

