Not For Sale!

David & I have this running bit that we do around the house. He’ll go, “How much? How much for the panther??” and I’ll go, “Not for sale!” and hug Bean really tight. Sometimes he’ll insist that no price is too high, that he must have him for his exotic animal collection, but I never give in.

I’d definitely be a little more flexible with my pysanky! Most of these are not for sale because I’ve already given them as gifts, and/or because they’re not my designs–I learned to make pysanky by copying designs from the Ukrainian Gift Shop catalogs, which is a fine way to learn, but I don’t feel okay about selling them. All the eggs I sell are either my own design, or a traditional way of dividing the egg that I came up with my own color scheme for.

Without further ado:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis is the egg that started the season! A longtime Livejournal/zine/internet/a couple memorable times IRL friend (::waves:: hi, Amy!) saw the pysanky I made for my friend Gina M and asked if I would make another one with one more deer added for her family of three. We set it up as a art/craft trade, and I’m getting a handknit scarf soon, with absolutely gorgeous yarn that’s named “granite” and is tones of white, grey, and black.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis is a Ukrainian Gift Shop (UGS) design, made for my herbalist, who was very helpful during my most recent miscarriage.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A front & side view of the “freeform mandala” egg I used as the Snowgoose Studio profile picture.  I was showing my friend Julie the new studio, and she picked this egg out as her favorite. Later in the evening we brought them out to the kitchen to show her new husband Jim, and he picked this one out as his favorite too! So off it goes as a wedding gift, not for sale!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This one is not for sale for a sad reason–yesterday I opened my “inventory” carton, and the top was broken off! I don’t know how in the world it happened; it was emptied, so it didn’t explode (which sometimes happens with full, rotten eggs–super gross), all the other eggs in the same carton were in fine condition, nothing was on top of the carton, it was too high for cats to get….no idea. Goodbye, pysanka #2! (They have numbers so I can keep track of who bought what.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was working on the “fishscale division”, and decided to make concentric fishscales, inspired by my friend Maisie who draws these intricate concentric patterns, and made me a beautiful hotplate carved with a woodburning tool. I named this style “Mazeyfish” in her honor, and sent her this first one as a gift.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And this Mazeyfish was Snowgoose Studio’s first sale!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnd lastly, a design I honestly don’t remember where it came from. Sometimes I just copy the photos from websites and I haven’t been very good about sourcing them all the time, which is bad, but I won’t sell anyone else’s designs. This was given to a friend of ours for her birthday.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Not For Sale!

  1. Tasha says:

    All of these designs are beautiful. I wonder if there is a program that lets you map out designs.

    • ami says:

      Thanks, Tasha! I got a few books out of the library on using Photoshop to make quilt patterns, but I wasn’t particularly motivated to actually read them. I used to have a basic surface knowledge of Photoshop, but it appears to have gotten even shallower. It’s on my bucket list of things to learn. Until then, it’s old school with graph paper.

  2. iHanna says:

    Very cool and special – all of them. I think it’s great that you can share those that aren’t for sale too.

Leave a Reply

