More stamps

I wanted to try making my own stamps, but I don’t have a carving tool, and I didn’t really want to buy one just yet. (It’s been on my “wish list” for years, but I forget that when people ask me what I’d like for my birthday/Christmas. Maybe now I’ll remember!) So when I saw this tutorial for making stamps out of craft foam, I got pretty excited. I love how it has the same kind of look that carved stamps do because of the way that cutting with a craft knife is limited in cutting round edges, although I’m not sure I’m explaining that very well. Anyway, I think it’s cool, and I gave it a go:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis is my attempt at a “retro shape” pattern. Not sure what you’d call that shape, but it’s always in my head, probably taking up residence there while working in the curtain department of JC Penney, where a similar pattern on a set of curtains caught my imagination instead of, you know, selling curtains. (I worked on commission. I was terrible at it.) I had to throw out this stamp because it was getting dented toward the end, but I used to design to inspire this egg design prototype:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI don’t really like it and I’m still trying to figure out how to make it work better…probably involving pencilling out the grid for more regularity. I’m so bad at even spacing!

I did like the way this one turned out; it’s a fun one to color in so it can look different each time:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I also used it in a background for my first attempt at art journalling.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You can see more examples of art journal pages here and here and lots of other places. I’d describe it as sort of like scrapbooking, but more of a mess, and more original content.  I thought it was kind of cool, so I started a dedicated art journal, which I’ll show you in another post!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

