Link Love Friday #2

link-love-icon250

Some more favorites today:

1) One of my more recent additions to the ol’ Google Reader is Jenny’s Sketchbook. She says a lot of her work is inspired by Gennine Zlatkis, another artist I love & am also inspired by. I love hearing about what folks are influenced by, and how they use those influences in their own creations. Jenny’s watercolor sketchbooks are bright and bold and beautiful.

2) I found Rosie’s blog through the Art Journaling Tumblr, which is a nice feed of different styles of art journaling. What I love the most about Rosie’s blog is that she documents, step-by-step, what her art journal process looks like. It’s so fascinating to me to see the page come together one piece at a time. I was particularly inspired by this page, and tried using that process in one of my pages. I used watercolor instead to make a background, and tried to let the way the colors flowed over the page inspire the shape of the word blocks. Perhaps I’ll post it another time.

3) I’ve also been enjoying Michelle’s work at Inspiration Everywhere.  I love how Michelle is also doing the “sending yourself to art school” thing; she’s taking a lot of workshops and doing a wonderful job documenting her artistic journey.  I find it very inspiring to read about other folks’ evolution as artist. Sometimes I can get stuck only looking at folks’ finished work, sometimes professional level, and then I feel wholly inadequate. But everyone is on their own journey, and I appreciate times a million the folks who share their step-by-step process, like Rosie, or the way they put into practice what they’re learning, like Michelle.

4) I also love thriftiness, and using what you  have, especially with a hobby where you could potentially end up collecting a whole art supply store’s worth of Stuff. I really like Kira Nichols’ enitre blog, but one of my favorite aspects of her work is seeing how brilliantly she uses up scraps. I tried making inchies after reading her blog, but I didn’t really get into it. I find it hard to work that small; I’m more of a grand-scale mess-maker, heh.  I did, however, start saving my tiny scraps of paper. I’ve been using them for collage material, in my art journal, and I eventually plan on trying to make my own paper.

Here's my attempt. I'd love to send them to you, Kira, if you're reading!

Here’s my attempt. I’d love to send them to you, Kira, if you’re reading!  Email me your address? coldinaugust (at) gmail (dot) com

5) And on that reuse/recycle/free art supplies tip…I’m gonna cheat and include TWO more links.  The first is an envelope book— just what it sounds like, it’s a little art book made out of reused junk mail/bill envelopes (with online checking, I throw out so many of these)–made by a new friend who stopped by my humble blog through this link love mission. The second is a nice little post on an art swap site I just learned about giving a whole load of ideas for postcard bases, which of course could be put to other uses as well.

Have a good weekend, all!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Link Love Friday #2

  1. Thank you for sharing all the links, I can tell I am going to have a good weekend exploring so much creativity! 🙂

  2. Cynthia Lee says:

    Great links … I keep getting lost, clicking from one to another and then that leads to another. But it is so inspiring.

    Thanks for sharing!

  3. gypsy999 says:

    More yummy links to explore! And I agree that learning what inspires artists is quite interesting. I am off to explore! Thank you for joining the LINK-LOVE mission!!!

Leave a Reply

